The We-Consent™ App Privacy Policy

We-Consent™ is a smart phone and cloud-based evidence storage service designed to collect and store evidence of consent to having a sexual relationship.. When you sign up for We- Consent™, it is important that you understand what we do with the information you give us. This document explains what information we collect, how we collect it, and how we use it. If there are terms in this document that you do not understand (like GPS, or encryption) then look those terms up first, and do not use this application until you understand the terms.

What information do we collect? How do we collect it?
The easiest way to explain that is to just take you through using the app.

Step 1: When you sign up for We-Consent™ application, you create an account using a username (email address) and a password.

Step 2: After you’ve created an account, you simply follow the prompts in the app. The app uses the phone’s camera to look for a face, and asks your name. You say your name, and your phone records audio and video. If the audio or video is of insufficient quality, the application will close and the recording will be deleted.

Step 3: The app then prompts you to say the name of the partner with whom you would like to have sexual relations, and records the audio and video. Next, you are prompted to point the camera at your partner, which will again look for a face. The app will ask them their name and if they consent to sexual relations with you as a “yes or no” question. The app recognizes a “yes” or “no”. If the app hears no, or the video is of insufficient quality, then the application closes and the recording is deleted. Thus, if there is no consent, no evidence is stored.

Step 4: Your partner says “yes”. At this point, “evidence of consent” is stored in your account. The app records your phone’s location, the date and time. The app transmits an encrypted package of account information, both videos, and the audio, location and time and date information to a cloud server. Once the app successfully sends the evidence of consent to the cloud, it deletes that evidence from your phone. The cloud server then encrypts the evidence of consent again, and splits that information into three files, and stores each file in a different secure remote locations. The file cannot be reassembled without all three pieces. Once the cloud server splits the evidence of consent into those three files, the evidence of consent is deleted from the cloud. At the end of the process, evidence of consent now exists only in three individually encrypted parts, each held in a different location.

How do I know if evidence of consent was successfully transmitted?
We-Consent™ will promptly send you an email stating that your account was used, but which will not identify your partner. This is the only notification that you will receive about the use of the app.

Can I see the evidence of consent after I submit it?
No. We only release evidence of consent under three circumstances--(1) if you are the subject of a Title IX investigation alleging a lack of consent to a sexual encounter (E.g., a disciplinary hearing at a university over an alleged date rape); (2) if we receive a court order directing its release; or (3) pursuant to a law enforcement request. This practice is intended to protect your privacy and that of your partner.

I’ve used this app more than once. Can I look back at all of my consents if I want to?
No. If you or anyone asks to see your usage history (e.g., how many consents you have), that person needs a court order. Again, this practice is intended to protect your privacy and that of your partners.

Are you going to look at what’s in those files?
Not unless we are required to because of a Title IX or law enforcement investigation, a court order, or to ensure that our hardware and software works properly. . How long do you keep them? Seven years and a day. After that, we delete them unless you elect to pay to keep them stored longer.

What do you do with my account information?
We will not sell your email, phone number, username or password to a third party. We may send promotional emails to the address you gave us, and those emails may contain advertisements from sponsors, but we will not tell those sponsors that we sent an email to you.

We may give third parties aggregate information, divested of information that identifies you, for advertising purposes. For example, we might tell an advertiser how many total users we have so we can negotiate rates. Or we might put dots on each city in the United States where the app has been used (but without enough specificity to figure out exactly where). Thus we might show that the app was used 4000 times in New York City, but we would not break that information down block by block or by a specific date and time.

Do you collect information about me while the app is off?
No. When the app hears “yes,” it collects location information, , the audio and video files, the time and date, and sends the evidence of consent to the cloud for processing and storage. Then no further recording is done until you start a new recording.

Will the app work even if I trick it into getting consent from my cat?
We only store the evidence you send us, we do not review it except in unusual circumstances. (Nonetheless, you should be aware that state bestiality laws presume that cats cannot consent.)