The I've-Been-Violated™ App Privacy Policy

I’ve-Been-Violated™ is a smart phone and cloud-based evidence storage service designed to collect and store evidence of an unwanted, unwelcomed or worse encounter. When you sign up for I’ve-Been-Violated™, it is important that you understand what we do with the information you give us. This document explains what information we collect, how we collect it, how we store it, and under what circumstances the recordings can be made available. If there are terms in this document that you do not understand (like GPS, or encryption) then look those terms up first, and do not use this application until you understand the terms.

What information do we collect? How do we collect it?
The easiest way to explain that is to just take you through using the app.

Step 1: When you sign up for the I’ve-Been-Violated™ application, you create an account using a username (email address) and a password.

Step 2: After you’ve created an account, you simply follow the prompts in the app. The app uses the phone’s front camera to record whomever is looking at the app.

Step 3: At this point, “evidence of the event” is stored in your account. The app records your phone’s location, the date and time. The app transmits an encrypted package of account information, the video, and the location and time and date information to a cloud server. Once the app successfully sends the evidence of the event to the cloud, it deletes that evidence from your phone. The cloud server then stores each file in a secure remote location.

How do I know if evidence of the event was successfully transmitted?
I’ve-Been-Violated™ will promptly send you an email stating that your account was used. This is the only notification that you will receive about the use of the app.

Can I see the videos after I submit them?
No. We only release the recordings under two circumstances -- (1) if we receive a court order directing its release; or (2) pursuant to a law enforcement request. This practice is intended to protect your privacy.

I’ve used this app more than once. Can I look back at all of my “narratives” if I want to?
No. If you or anyone asks to see your usage history (e.g., how many narratives you have created), that person needs a court order. However, in order to protect your safety, we reserve the right tom make a health care referral if you have used the app more than 3 times in any one-year period and to make a law enforcement referral if you have used the app more than 5 times in any one-year period. Such a referral will only include the information that the App has been used “x” number of times during the relevant time period and will NOT provide any access to your recorded narratives themselves. Again, this practice is intended to protect your privacy.

Are you going to look at what’s in those files?
Not unless we are required to because of a law enforcement investigation, a court order, or to ensure that our hardware and software works properly.

How long do you keep them?
Seven years and a day. After that, they are deleted unless you elect to pay to keep them stored longer.

What do you do with my account information?
We will not sell your email, phone number, username or password to a third party. If you obtained access to the App as part of the WE-CONSENT™ app suite, we may send promotional emails to the address you gave us, and those emails may contain advertisements from sponsors, but we will not tell those sponsors that we sent an email to you. We may give third parties aggregate information, divested of information that identifies you, for advertising purposes. For example, we might tell an advertiser how many total users we have so we can negotiate rates. Or, we might put dots on a map showing each city in the United States where the app has been used (but without enough specificity to identify exactly where). Thus we might show that the app was used 4000 times in New York City, but we would not break that information down block by block or by a specific date and time. If you obtained access to the App on its own and NOT as a part of the WE-CONSENT™ app suite, we will not send promotional emails to the address you gave us.

Do you collect information about me while the app is off?
No. When the start button is activated the app collects location information, the video file, the time and date, and sends the files to the cloud for processing and storage. Then no further recording is done until you start a new recording.